The Media meets Mindfulness

Meet CNN’s Anderson Cooper in this twelve minute clip from the 60 minutes TV show.

You almost feel embarrassed for him as he joins a weekend Mindfulness retreat to experience sitting, eating, and walking, in mindful silence.

“Is this just some New Age Gobbledygook?” he asks Jon Kabat Zinn, who leads the retreat.

“I miss my cellphone”, he quips as all technology is surrendered at the start of the retreat.

Now, here is the really entertaining bit, almost like an out-take at the end of a comedy.

It’s a behind the scenes retrospective from the 60 minutes overtime show as Anderson admits he drank the Kool-Aid, and it changed his life!

“Its a little disappointing to get your cell phone back. It’s the last thing you really want to see again”.

“I was totally skeptical”.

“I realized, sitting in that meditation hall…. this is exactly what I need”

“The thing that really stuck with me from this meditation retreat is….it’s just returning to your breath.”

“It’s not another thing you have to add to your list of things to do….. it’s just being……and… you know… we’re not used to just… kinda being!

The Media meets Mindfulness

2 thoughts on “The Media meets Mindfulness

  1. Hi Jerry, this is so interesting. I’ve been meditating every day since Christmas time and even though it’s just 10 minutes each morning, I feel so much calmer and more focused through the day. How is your practice going?

  2. Mine is up & down Sally, which is why I blog on mindfulness. My mindless side is still strong so my mindful side needs back up! But, my life is always richer when the mindful side is in charge. Like now 🙂

Leave a Reply

